Just how Celtic are you?  

162 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Ripped from a different thread.

How many people on this board have No to very very little Scottish / Celtic blood in them.

I do not believe I do.

Yet I wear kilts anyways. Almost full time to.

My blood ties to Scotland and other Celtic cultures are many hundreds of years old, dating back to before the Mayflower landed.

(EDIT: I'll have to check on recent arrivals. Growing up soo close to Boston, thinking there is no recent irish infusion would be naive )

I would have to sift through generations of Germans and Czechoslovacian ancestry to see if anything pops up.

I have been wearing a kilt, occasionally, for maybe 2 years now just because I like them. As far as I knew, I was 100% German. Then about 6 months ago I was going through my late father's geneology project and saw that he hadn't filled in one branch of the family tree, his mother's line. I knew she was from Nova Scotia so I started investigating on my own and found out that everyone on that branch can be traced back to Scotland. So I am 25% Scottish................who knew???

my grandfathefs grandfather was from galway ireland. thats recent enough for me to count myself as irish-american

I'm half French, and my other half is German and Danish. My German grandmother says we have some Irish through her line... but if you follow the "3 generations back" guideline, then I'd have to say that I don't have any Irish in me. You also have to take what she says with a grain of salt... so I very much doubt I can claim any Irish blood.

Not that I cared about that before I bought my 5 Utilikilts :)

I have a teeny tiny amount of Celt blood in me, enough to be easily looked over, but I enjoy and wear the kilt as much as I can.