KiltedTexan

Stamping, Staining, And Tooling

Starting to play with leather a little, hope it turns into a great hobby. Anyway, looking for advice in staining and stamping leather. Got anything, I'm willing to learn.

Patients one must have, young padawan. Said in my best Yoda voice. My first piece of advice if you are going to tool make sure that your swivel knife is sharp, use distilled water to wet the leather with, when you are tooling have a light touch with hammer and tool. I would also advise staring out with the tooling use scrap pieces to practice on. The staining part is like staining wood the longer you leave it on the darker it gets. I've been doing leather work on and off for 30 years and I still haven't mastered it. Here's a few pics of stuff that I have done in the past.

I just finished my wifes snapping turtle purse last weekend as I mentioned in an earlier post

KGrHqRlQE6CCEKtEBOhk6KVIy60_12.jpg

3 inch ranger style kilt belt

032.jpg

031.jpg

030.jpg

029.jpg

028.jpg

027.jpg

016.jpg

Here's the rest of them since for some reason I got message saying I couldn't post that many pics in a single post

Eagle carvings done right after 9/11 I don't have a photo of the life size eagle I did on a full side that is the fourth part of these

wareagle---1.jpg

naturalflag.jpg

leatherflag---1.jpg

Still working on my snapper sporran

BoPEtNQCGkKGrHqEH-CcEuYLIK3lpBLms8L.jpg

BoPEo7gBWkKGrHqEH-EUEuEbd4FyBLms72O.jpg

That snapper sporran is really cool!!

• Hit a tile shop for a scrap of marble tile to work on. If it's only 1/2" thick, glue it to a piece of 3/4" plywood. The hard marble worktop will make your stamped impressions a bit crisper--and protect your dining room table.
  • Get some jeweler's rouge and use on a scrap of leather to make a strop to keep your swivel knife sharp.
  • Plan your work out on paper first. If you can't draw it, you can't very well tool it!!