Lythgoe

Length And Height Of Your Kilt

40 posts in this topic

Let me start this off by saying that I have never been much of a traditionalist. The fact that I wear a kilt and no one else in my family does demonstrates that. I have been wearing kilts for almost 5 years now and have noticed something happen. Over the years I have started wearing my traditional tartan kilt lower on my waist, which therefore covers more of my knees. In fact, when I wear my kilt now, I am close to my jeans waist and my kilt goes to lower knee. If you look at me straight on, you could not see my knees, just my kilt hose.I have noticed this same thing happening in some pictues on certain websites.

I am wondering what everyone thinks. It might just be my generation, but I just like my kilts to cover my knees (similar to how I wear shorts).

Brice

as long as the hem falls somewhere on or really close to my kneecaps I'm good.

hey, are the ones your selling the old or new length now? I prefer to wear my kilts near the navel, and I hope to order before my birthday, but remembered oy umentioned the length was going to change.

I don't know if it is generational or not. I prefer wearing my kilt at the top of the knee and certainly like it no more than a quarter of the knee cap down.

My first traditional kilts were Stillwaters and I wore them at the navel I have a couple of kilts with a 2" rise so they are actually worn above the navel. As a consequence I feel most comfortable at the natural waist or there abouts. That said I do wear my altkilts and rkilts lower but still above the hips. Personal preference, no more, the bottom of the knee is too low for me, traditional or modern.

I like my kilts to sit around mid knee. I can live with lower knee if I have too, but certainly never above. I therefore tend to wear my off the rack kilts where they will make the mid=knee thing happen. My tailor-mades are all military rise, so the navel doesn;t get a look in :)