21.1,18. Hello, I am a newbie from S.W. England. U.K..................Been wearing the Traditional Scottish Kilt for Years. Latest Kilt is a made to measure 8 yard 16oz  made by a Scottish kilt maker in the Highlands of Scotland..... My thoughts are; if one is going to invest in a new Kilt , make sure it fits and will last a lifetime.

Some time ago there was thread on Boy Scouts KIlts.... In My old Scouting For Boys It stated that Scottish Scouts may wear their Family Tartan as part of the Scottish Boy Scout Uniform.......'''This is the same statement that many Scottish Grammar Schools made regarding Family Tartan Kilts as an alternative to Shorts as part of their school uniform......You will note that the Youngster could wear his Family Tartan For two separate purposes.  ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Regards..........wee laddie 18

• Thanks 1

Welcome, from a kilt maker in SW London

Welcome from Arizona. I could be wrong, but I think the tartan the boy scouts use in the states is MacLaren. I've never been the UK. My mom had family from there. Here maternal grandmother was from London and we have relatives in Kent, High Halden. Maybe some day I'll get there.