redbeard the kilted

The Learning Curve Of Kiltmaking

Since February, I have made several abortive attempts at kiltmaking. I'm assuming that most of you are self-taught in both sewing and kiltmaking and have seen countless yards of fabric nder your fingers only to serve as teaching pieces. So far, I have been able to produce three kilts that will not offend the public. In fact, one of them became a birthday present for a good friend of mine.

As I continue to sew, pleat, rip, and grow, I often wonder what it was like for the kiltmakers on this board to find themselves on the learning curve. What are your goals? What are your regrets? What are your standards? What were your first attempts/

i made a kilt out of black "dickies" material. it turned out ok. i realized I liked "real waist" not jeans waist. that was ok but after i wore it a couple of times it needed washing- i realized i should have preshrunk it...oops. after the second i realized I should have made deeper first and last pleats. now i take my time and try not to do previous mistakes.

I've made 2 of my own kilts out of 12 oz denim in an 8 yard Knife pleat with help from my wife helping me pleat after my first attempt ended up wrapping to the left. We used nothing more than my wife's knowledge of pleating skirts for herself and one of my off the rack kilts for a rough pleat depth they both turned out all right. The only thing I did to mine out of personal choice was beefed the waist band up and widened the belt loops to 4 inches to fit my 3 inch belt that I made. Haven't tried to make a modern style yet but I plan on giving it a try in the future.