Seanachie

Something To Reflect On

I will be the first to admit, particularly in my early kilted days, of focus on bottom line cost and so frequently looked at kilts and other gear strictly from a cost perspective. Over time as I got to know merchants on a more personal level, understood the differences in quality and build of products and how many of the merchants we purchase from are real artisans, I elected in any possible instance to support them (particularly if they were a BOTK mechant). In more than a few instances that has meant saving and holding off on purchases. I purchased a kilt this past spring that I had been saving for about 3 years for.

Well, one merchant I have purchased wool kilts from expressed (several months back) to me the frustration of the kilt community that frequently takes to the forum talks a good game and then if the can save $10 purchases from an offshore company that mass produces. This is not just a lost sale, but an impact on a good man's livelihood and that really hit home with me. I know he has a family and his hand sewn kilts are his daily bread.

This afternoon I talked with another kilt maker, with whom I placed an order, who is an extremely decent person, makes a superb product and provides top drawer customer service. One of the first things out of his mouth was that things are slow and while he makes a superior product how hard it is to compete against cheap, mass produced Asian products even though the quality can not compare. (I said superior not him)