Kevin80222

Moral Dilemma

So, I admit that I still, from time to time, may go to that "other" kilt blog - don't get me wrong, I don't "play" over there and trust me when I say that "I only look at the pictures", which I do - it's the best way to see who's wearing what and how they're wearing it, and although I'm loathe to admit it I am going to be honest with the group here :pale:

Here's the dilemma: We have a member here that basically cut and paste a post from another member onto that other forum - no quotation, no reference of having gotten it from another source.. just posted the three or four paragraphs and pictures as if they were his/her own...

Is it just me or is this kinda dirty and unethical?

If it's not, then I'm gonna start plagiarizing posts so I can sound more intelligent...

Please tell me I'm right, I can't pull off smart.

Can't say that I agree with stealing others words. I think you should have a PM with the person.

• Like 1

I am a writer and post all my tales on the internet pen name (Sentinel103)....yes you can google it. We usually adhere to the rule that if you are using someone else's intellectual material then you should seek his/her permission as it is their property.

In some cases authors are unable to get that because the author that you borrowed it from may not be on the site anymore.....at the very least you should explain where you got the material. For us plagiarism is serious and it has happened.

• Like 1

No I am not a bleeding heart far from it....I agree that not giving proper attribution to someone and directly using their words is wrong.

But out of curiosity...have you tried sending the brother a PM. Maybe he made a mistake, and a bad one at that, and will come clean and learn from it.

On the other hand if he did not reply in an appropriate way or was nasty I would have a real negative perspective. Might be worth a conversation with KT, particularly